Welcome to The International Safety Media Awards

Thank you to everyone who submitted media entries to ISMA 2022. View our most recent winners by clicking on the “Winners” tab at the top of the page. ISMA 2024 will be held September 2024 at the World Safety 2024 conference. Check our homepage for the most recent updates.

If you have questions or concerns, feel free to email Marcia Howell at or Barbara Minuzzo at

International Safety Media Awards

The International Safety Media Awards (ISMA) recognize high quality safety media from around the world. The ISMAs provide safety promotion and injury prevention professionals an opportunity to showcase their media initiatives.

Past winners have leveraged their ISMA success, resulting in increased funding and worldwide recognition.

A jury of renowned injury prevention and media specialists consider production quality, message clarity, innovation/creativity and evaluation methods and results.

Submission Categories:

  • Print
  • Short Videos
  • Ultra Short Videos
  • Online/Web-based
  • Campaign (High and Low Budget)

The first ISMAs were presented at Safety 2006 in Durban, South Africa. Since then, hundreds of safety promoters have been honored for their safety media by an international panel of judges.

Winners of the 2020 awards were announced virtually at the 14th World Conference on Injury Prevention and Safety Promotion. It was a challenging year for the judges, as the quality of entries and methodologies for evaluating media impacts have continued to grow. 

Thank you to everyone who has submitted their media over the years. We look forward to continuing to learn from the evolution of the art and science of injury prevention and safety promotion through media.